Male HQ

Speed difference between mesh & traditional routers

tiemeup

My pc is currently connected directly through lan to the main hub of my mesh router (d-link covr 2202), and I noticed that the speed I get is significantly lower than when I connect to a traditional router (also a d-link router provided by starhub previously).

Does anyone experience a similar issue when switching from a traditional router to a mesh router? Is there even a modicum of truth that a mesh router isn't as "powerful" as a traditional router?

For that reason, I've been thinking for quite some time now about getting the synology rt2600ac as the main router and a synology mr2200ac as the satellite. Anyone has any experience to share, or any other recommendation to provide? I've been using the d-link covr for a few years now and honestly I've been quite underwhelmed by it. It is...reliable, I give it that, but the web and app interface are surprisingly limited and I like to have the option of messing around with settings and create problems that I have no idea got there in the first place

I haven't seen the need to switch to a mesh system as I found that traditional routers serve what I need.

I also think it will depends on your usage. I have not used D-link routers/mesh system before as I usually stick to Asus routers (had used 4-5 different models from them).

They are generally very stable, and the Asus web interface are quite comprehensive as well.

Asus router also gives you the option to "mesh" additional Asus routers if you need a mesh system.

Recently switched to a  Xiaomi AX3600 router (also able to mesh), which gives me around 520Mbps D, 450Mbps U on my 1Gbps plan. So far quite stable as well.