Male HQ

Solar Panel Efficiency, Costs and Payback in HDB Homes

keyboard

So on this topic of portable solar panels, I find that it is lacking on the internet. There's not much write-up or how-to size and place to teach layman who are interested but don't know what to get and if you can get anything out of it. So here's my attempt to try to explain (note i'm not an electrical engineer, all googled info). Happy to hear feedback or inputs.

The story goes when my sis brought a portable solar panel for fun. So i took it and geeked out on it.

Panel Watts = 21W

Output = 3.5A (dual) - don't know if it's two ports total or per port can output 3.5A

Number of panels = 3

Voltage = 5V

Cost = S$50

There are a few components that determine if you will actually get the full advertised Watts (important because this determines how much current Amps (how fast) to charge your battery.

1. Type of USB cable you have - seems like the types I have at home can carry around 1.6A (you can test using this app called Ampere https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gombosdev.ampere&hl=en_SG though some calculation and stable test is required, like flight mode, turn off background app, then need to add discharging + charging to = how much current from wall socket to device). There are different types of cables, 2A, 3A USB cable, data or without.

2. Battery storage input charge rate, this is tricky because I have a few powerbanks i tested, like the original Xiaomi 10,000mAh says it can accept 2A but in reality when plugged into the solar panel only can draw 1A, so that's twice the number of hours to charge and wasting the available solar power.