Male HQ

Are We Singaporeans Setting Our Expectations Too High?

gstc82

That bugger who created the Lai, Harlo thread got me thinking, are Singaporeans expecting too much? I work in the service industry and I noticed that locals expect way too much in the wrong context. Should we base our expections in the price we pay? Should we expect 5 star service when we pay 1 star price? Just this afternoon I saw a local uncle shouting at a cashier at a Cheers outlet accusing her of touching his curry puff which she did not n demands a new puff. That cashier apologies again and again and addressed him Sir many times. Shd we not adjust our expectations base on environment? Are we as a society getting out of hand in expectations?

It is an asian society. So far Japan are the best service provider and no asian country can par it. Closer is Taiwan which I believed inherited some of Japanese culture. China and india are by far the worse in service probably followed by Singapore with these foreigners coming in drove. I am not just implying service provider, but service taker too. In Australia market, even their service standard is excellent regardless they serve first or 3rd class customers. I bought a couple of apples and the seller thanks and joked with me and even wished me well kind of courtesy with 2 more apples thrown in free for me. Will you see such gesture in Singapore? Not until the sun rise from the west.

Local uncle probably venting his frustrations at how he's treated by other 'service providers' he could not scold e.g. CPF board refusing to let him touch retirement funds, HDB's stifling rules, ageism killing his ricebowl and dignity, medical fees sky high and pp in charge refusing to provide safety net, unlike Australia, Japan and even China...